Rooted in Faith



It is the unique role of the Sacraments in the life of a faith community to be the means by which we transform our hearts and lives. In the celebration of the Sacraments our “natural” life is made Holy and held up as “spiritual.” A sacrament in the Catholic Church is a rite Catholics believe was established by Jesus Christ. The seven sacraments of the Catholic Church are its most sacred and ancient rites of worship. Receiving a sacrament brings grace to everyone who participates in the ritual.

The sacraments fall into three categories:

Sacraments of Initiation

Through Baptism, people enter (are initiated into) the Catholic Church.

Through Confirmation, they’re considered personally responsible for their faith.

Through Holy Eucharist (or Holy Communion), they express their unity with the Church.

Sacraments of Community

Through the sacrament of Matrimony a couple is made part of their Catholic community.

By receiving Holy Orders, a Catholic man becomes a ministering spiritual leader to the community

Sacraments of Mercy

The sacrament of Penance (or Confession or Reconciliation), when you do it every week, gives you the opportunity to release the burden of your sins and to start healing and growing stronger in your faith.

The Anointing of the Sick is also about spiritual healing and release from earthly concerns.

Please contact Ellen Heitman EMAIL about any of the Sacraments at St Joan or Bill Frederick EMAIL at St Catherine.

 To learn more, CLICK HERE to contact us.